Jackson County Board of Education members approved the purchase of SPIRE materials at their recent meeting, these materials will be used for children with dyslexia in the system.

Board members also approved the 2018-2019 school calendar. In 2018, students will begin their first day of school on August 9. They will also enjoy a fall break October 8-11; Thanksgiving break November 19-20; Christmas break December 20 - January 1; Spring break March 25-29 and their school year will end on May 24, 2019.
Prior to approving the Continuous Improvement Plan, Board member Charles West stated, “I hope someone read it, it was 103 pages. It was too long to read.”
Board members voted to amend the Jackson County Custodians Salary School. This allowed the board to convert all  nine month, seven hour positions to nine month, eight hour positions.
The board also accepted the retirement of Eddie Sharp and the resignation of Magan Pope and Jordan Williams.
Employments approved included Whitney Clark, Kelly Webber, Eric Ott, Lindsay McLain, Brittany Haynes, Robin Shirey, Tiffany McDonald, Derek Pendergrass, Jessica Varner, Michelle Holcomb, and Jackie Tate.
Non faculty, unpaid coaching assignments included Derek Allen, Hugh Glenn Lewis, Jr., Daniel Utter, Ellen Denes, Zach Goff, Hayden Kirby, Chase McRae, Natalie Stevens and Gerald Thompson. Non faculty, paid coaching assignments included, Chase McRae, Keith Linderman and Keith Haynes.
Following the meeting, Superintendent Kevin Dukes announced that a second resource officer would be added to Jackson County Schools beginning in January and would be paid for with federal funds.

Dunham's Sports

Upcoming Events

22 Jun 2019
Amateur Radio Field Day
24 Jun 2019
11:00AM -
NARFE Meeting
24 Jun 2019
06:30PM -
NE AL Gospel Crusade
25 Jun 2019
06:30PM -
NE AL Gospel Crusade
26 Jun 2019
06:30PM -
NE AL Gospel Crusade

Like The Clarion on FB!

© The Clarion - 2018

Designed and maintained by Aldrich Publishing, LLC.
All rights reserved. All articles, photographs and other content are property of The Clarion Newspaper. Do not reproduce or copy without permission.